Panhandling ordinance goes to vote

Free Speech in Jeopardy

A panhandling ordinance will be brought forward at this Tuesday’s City Council meeting. Previously we’ve had an ordinance forbidding aggressive panhandling. If passed this new version will make it illegal to panhandle within 30 feet from an ATM, bank doorway, transit center, bus stop, and other place restrictions. Even if the person solicited isn’t using an ATM or at the bus stop.

When you pace out 30 feet, that length could take you across a two lane road plus parking space, a pretty long distance away to be considered intimidating. Panhandlers shouldn’t approach someone using an ATM, but everyone should be able to say “Spare change?” or “Can we bring about change?” anywhere else to anyone else in a non-threatening manner.

Let our city council know you want them to protect our constitutional right to free speech. Come to the City Council meeting Tuesday, 11/14/17, 5pm, email and/or call your councilmember and the mayor.

Copy of proposed ordinance

Articles: Sacramento City Council considers panhandling ordinance
Sacramento Panhandling Ban Could Go Into Effect Next Month

Mayor Steinberg  mayorsteinberg@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-5300
Dist 1 – Councilmember Angelique Ashby aashby@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7001
Dist 2 – Councilmember Allen Warren  awarren@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7002
Dist 3 – Councilmember Jeff Harris  jsharris@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7003
Dist 4 – Councilmember Steve Hansen  shansen@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7004
Dist 5 – Councilmember Jay Schenirer  jschenirer@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7005
Dist 6 – Councilmember Eric Guerra  eguerra@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7006
Dist 7 – Councilmember Rick Jennings  rjennings@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7007
Dist 8 – Councilmember Larry Carr  lcarr@cityofsacramento.org (916) 808-7008

Advertisements

About shocpaula

I work in the field of homelessness, with interest in civil rights, sustainability, direct democracy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s